Texas Car Seat Laws



Injured? Connect with a lawyer NOW for a free evaluation


Texas car seat laws require that children under the age of 8 be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat while riding in a vehicle. This is required by law to help protect children from injury or death in the event of a car accident. Here are some key points about Texas car seat laws:

  1. Children under the age of 8 must be properly secured in a child safety seat or booster seat.
  2. Children who are 8 years old or older, or who are 4 feet 9 inches tall or taller, may use a seat belt instead of a child safety seat or booster seat.
  3. All child safety seats and booster seats must be properly installed and used according to the manufacturer’s instructions.
  4. Children who are under the age of 13 should ride in the back seat of the vehicle whenever possible.
  5. Children who are 8 years old or older, or who are 4 feet 9 inches tall or taller, must use a seat belt while riding in the back seat of the vehicle.
  6. The driver of the vehicle is responsible for ensuring that all passengers under the age of 17 are properly secured in a child safety seat or seat belt.
  7. Violating Texas car seat laws can result in a fine of up to $250.

It is important to note that these laws are in place to help protect children from injury or death in the event of a car accident. Properly securing a child in a child safety seat or booster seat can reduce the risk of serious injury or death by up to 75 percent. For this reason, it is essential that parents and caregivers take the time to properly install and use child safety seats and booster seats according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Leave a Comment