The three states with the shortest statute of limitations for personal injury are Tennessee, Kentucky, and Louisiana. These states set a filing deadline of one year from the accrual of the cause of action.
A jury in Dallas ordered U-Haul International Inc. to pay $84 million to a 74-year-old man. The award included $63 million in punitive damages. The 2006 U-Haul accident left the victim with a crushed pelvis. As a result, he cannot walk and has no bowel control.
Motorcycle riders who injured a motorist or pedestrian and tried to flee from a police officer can be charged with a misdemeanor. Section 2800.1 of the California Vehicle Code imposes less than one-year imprisonment to persons escaping from police officers during investigations.
Cervical spine injuries frequently occur due to significant trauma, such as in car accidents. Approximately 5 to 10 percent of patients suffering from blunt trauma have sustained cervical spine injury.